BECOMING

mm-deepest-fear

Marianne Williamson once wrote, “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are POWERFUL BEYOND MEASURE. It is our LIGHT, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, WHO ARE YOU NOT TO BE? You are a CHILD OF GOD. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the GLORY OF GOD that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; IT’S IN EVERYONE. And as we let our light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are LIBERATED from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others”

This statement which has so many times been erroneously attributed to Nelson Mandela, always leaves me inspired each and every time I read it. A hallelujah always escapes from my mouth.

Many times I try to imagine what she must have felt that led to her writing this, but I thank God she penned it down to inspire a lot of people, I for one. Imagine if she let it stay on the inside, imagine if she thought she sounded stupid for thinking it. Imagine if she thought herself unworthy to have an opinion.

Most times we feel inadequate, we feel less special, talentless. Looking around we see wonderful things been created by others, we appreciate but then feel like we are not capable of such creation or even better. Some know they are talented but are afraid to let it out for fear of rejection. Whichever it may be, please, read that statement all over again as it holds a lot of truth.

More so, the Bible tells us that there are treasures in earthen vessels. To each of us God has given something, something special. We are each uniquely designed with a purpose.

I have decided to embark on a journey. The journey to becoming the person that I have been created to be. To give life to all that has been deposited in me. I am ready to make mistakes and try again, to goof and be laughed at, to learn from myself and everyone around me, to be everything I could possibly be and live out my purpose.

I hereby invite you to take this trip with me. As we look into our own lives and the lives of those who have started and gone farther as they give us pointers.

Welcome to the “journey of becoming”. May we have a wonderful trip.

🙂

your thoughts...

